Menu


Meet Our Faculty and Staff

Mountain Area Christian Academy in Morganton, GA is a Christian school that offers Christ–centered and Biblically based educational programs. Please read more about our knowledgeable faculty.

 

Administrators

 

Steve Shamblin
Administrator
Athletic Director
Certifications: MS Educational Leadership from
Regent University
Bachelor of Science from
Palm Beach Atlantic
Georgia Association of Christian Schools
Athletic Director


sshamblin@macalions.org


Nikki Shamblin, P.C.E.T.
Assistant Administrator
Principal
Certifications: MS Education - Curriculum & Instruction
Columbia International University
Bachelor of English/Psychology from Palm Beach Atlantic
Georgia Association of Christian Schools
Professional Certified Educational Therapist
of the National Institute for Learning Development


nshamblin@macalions.org


Elementary Faculty


Debbie Schmidt
Elementary Principal
Certifications: B.S. Multidisciplinary Studies

Liberty University

ACSI Certification: Professional

GACS Certification: Professional


Started at Mountain Area Christian Academy: 2017


Amy Harbison
Kindergarten
Child Development Associate





aharbison@macalions.org

Diana Tarpley
1st Grade

Associates Early Childhood Education
North Georgia Tech

GACS Certification:
Started at Mountain Area Christian Academy : 2019




 
Brooklyn Christopher
2nd Grade
B.A. Early Childhood Ed
Brenau University

GACS Certification:
Professional
Started at Mountain Area Christian Academy: 2019





bchristopher@macalions.org

Maegan Williams
3rd Grade
B.A. English Lit & Language
University of Tennessee
MA Education
Lee University

GACS Certification:
Professional
Started at Mountain Area Christian Academy: 2018




mwilliams@macalions.org



Rebecca Clark

4th Grade
B.S. Early Childhood Education, Brenau University
MA Elementary Education Walden University

GACS Certification: Professional
Ga State Certified: Early Childhood Education
Started at Mountain Area Christian Academy: 2012, 2014

rclark@macalions.org


 Ashley Champion
5th Grade
B.S. Early Childhood,

Dalton State College

GACS Certification: Professional

Started at Mountain Area Christian Academy: 2017


achampion@macalions.org



Deborah Schmidt

6th Grade
B.S. Multidisciplinary Studies

Liberty University
ACSI Certification: Professional

GACS Certification: Professional


Started at Mountain Area Christian Academy: 2017


dschmidt@macalions.org


 

Special Education

GACS Certification:

Started at Mountain Area Christian Academy:





Brenda Crawford
Special Education
Help Class
B.S. Education Brenau University

Certification:
GACS Professional

Started at Mountain Area Christian Academy: 2014


bcrawford@macalions.org











Middle/High School Faculty





College Algebra, Pre-Algebra, Algebra II, English 7

GACS Certification:
Started at Mountain Area Christian Academy:

 
Stephanie Nickerson


B.S. Psychology/Child Development
Appalachian State University

GACS Certification: Provisional
Started at Mountain Area Christian Academy: 2016

snickerson@macalions.org
Jan Jones
MS & HS History
B.A. Science Ed
(History minor)
Georgia Southwestern

GACS Certification: Professional

Started at Mountain Area Christian Academy: 2007

jjones@macalions.org

Rachel Jones
ACCEL English, Middle/High English,
High School Spanish I & II
Senior Class Advisor

BA in English Lit w/minor in Spanish Language, North Georgia College and State University
MA in Teaching with Literature Concentration from
NGCSU

GACS Certification: Professional

Started at Mountain Area Christian Academy: 2011

rjones@macalions.org
Thomas Shamblin
B.A. Christian Studies
Middle School Bible, Physical Education, Weight Training


GACS Certification: Professional
Started at Mountain Area Christian Academy: 2016


tshamblin@macalions.org


Alan Lutz

English 8, English 9, English 10, English 11-12, Music Theory, High School Boys Bible

B.A. Spanish Education
Butler University
MA Divinity Pastoral Studies
Covenant Seminary

GACS Certification:

Started at Mountain Area Christian Academy: 2019


alutz@macalions.org


Senior Master Sergeant
Harold Bargeron
 C.J.R.O.T.C.


U.S. Airforce
U.S. Marines










Pre-school Faculty


DeGina Scoggins, CDA
Pre-K Director


dscoggins@macalions.org

Jessica Peardon
K-1 Lead Teacher

jpeardon@macalions.org

Whitney Dyer

Associates Early Childhood Education

K-2 Lead Teacher


wdyer@macalions.org

Chrystal Tanner
Pre-K3 Lead Teacher


ctanner@macalions.org



Melony Tipton
Pre-K3 Lead Teacher




mtipton@macalions.org

Kelly Garrett
Pre-K4 Lead Teacher
 


kgarrett@macalions.org

 
Amber Collins
K-1 Assistant


Brittany Holloway
K-2 Assistant 



Becky Peardon
K-3 Assistant


Mamie Thomas
K-3 Assistant


John Ramsey
K-4 Assistant



Edie Cook
Housekeeping


Related Arts Faculty





Alicia Woody
Elementary Spanish



awoody@macalions.org


Melissa Beck

Special Needs Aid



Heather Earley

Elementary
Computer, Library, P.E. & Art


Support Staff



Dana Martin

Cafeteria Manager

James Cook
Janitorial


Jessica Allen
Cafeteria Assistant
 
Jeffie Barnes

Director of Finance

jbarnes@macalions.org

Gail Brown

Registrar


gbrown@macalions.org
 
Alyssa Hooper
Secretary


ahooper@macalions.org
 
Chris Scoggins
Development Director
Maintenance

cscoggins@macalions.org


Kayla Stanford
Fundraising Coordinator
Office Assistant
kstanford@macalions.org







 


Job Openings

Mountain Area Christian Academy prides itself on the high quality education it offers its students. To that end, we seek qualified individuals who have the knowledge, skills and abilities to provide a solid education from a Christian perspective.

Mountain Area Christian Academy is an equal opportunity employer. It is the policy of MACA not to discriminate on the basis of age, race, gender, national origin, handicap or religion in its employment. A criminal background check is required for all new employees.

If you are interested in applying, please download either a teacher's packet or a non-teaching packet and mail it to:

Administrator
Mountain Area Christian Academy
14090 Old Hwy. 76
Morganton, GA 30560


Employment Application (Teaching)
Employment Application (Non-Teaching)

 

 

 



Contact Information

Mountain Area Christian Academy
14090 Old Hwy. 76
Morganton, GA 30560

Call Us At
706-374-6222

Fax: 706-621-4940


info@macalions.org

 



GOAL orange logo

AACS main logo

NILD red logo

 




 

 

 

 
 
1